Mubarak-era Cairo University dean elected to same position

Professors at the Faculty of Science at Cairo University Saturday reelected Mohamed Saleh Tawfiq as dean of the college, having submitted his resignation two weeks ago so that he could be legitimately elected to his position. Tawfiq took 57.6 percent of the vote in the first round, while his opponent, Mohamed al-Sharkawy, garnered 39.1 percent.

Tawfiq had previously been appointed to his position during the regime of former President Hosni Mubarak.

The faculty elections saw a heavy voter turnout, with 88 out of 92 faculty members participating.

Saleh is the third former university dean to be elected to his former position, following the reelection of Mahmoud Kobeish as dean of the Faculty of Law and Wael Khalil as dean of the Faculty of Engineering.

Translated from the Arabic Edition

Related Articles

Back to top button