Photos: New Administrative Capital Opera House to be largest in Middle East

The Egypt Vision 2030 Facebook page published photos of the Opera House constructed in the New Administrative Capital, stating that it will be inaugurated soon and will be the largest in the Middle East.

It will be inaugurated in conjunction with the transfer of the headquarters of ministries and the parliament to the new capital, according to the page.

The description also stated that the new capital will include a cultural city on an area of 100 feddans that includes the Opera House and three theaters with a capacity of 2,500 people each.

The city has an art center, a museum of modern art, a library that fits 6,000 people, and a satellite-linked cinema.

The construction of the New Administrative Capital is on top of the priorities of the government’s sustainable development plan 2030. It is one of seven new integrated urban cities that are being implemented by the government, namely the New City of Alamein, the City of West Qena, Nasser City in Assiut, New Toshka City, East Port Said City and New Mansoura City.

The infrastructure for the first stage of the New Administrative Capital will cost LE 130 billion and will be completed by mid-2019, after which government ministries will be relocated there. The third batch of housing units will also be completed by 2019.

Egypt’s New Administrative Capital Company for Development spokesman Khaled al-Husseni said that the company already began implementing services in 2016 and will be done providing full services for the first stage of the New Administrative Capital by 2022. The government sector will include 36 buildings. One will be for the parliament, one for the cabinet and 34 for different ministries. The first stage will cost LE 30 billion, excluding infrastructure.

The New Administrative Capital was inaugurated in October 2017 in the presence of renowned singers such as Hussain Al Jassmmi , Nancy Ajram and Tamer Hosny. China had already announced it will be investing $11.2 billion in the New Administrative Capital in September 2017.

Related Articles

Back to top button